Parc Nacional d’Aigüestortes


Photos: Gabi Beneyto / Araceli Ramos

Aigüestortes i Estany de Sant Maurici National Park (Catalan: Parc Nacional d’Aigüestortes i Estany de Sant Maurici, is one of the fourteen Spanish National Parks, and the only one located in Catalonia.

A wild mountain region in the Pyrenees, with peaks rising to 3017 m (Besiberri Sud) and with nearly 200 lakes, many of them of glacial origin, the park comprises a core area of 141 km² and a buffer zone of 267 km² surrounding the park. The park’s name,Aigüestortes i Estany de Sant Maurici, is Catalan, and translates into English as “The winding streams and lakes of St. Maurice”.
The park has an elevation range of 1600 to 3000 metres and contains four major vegetation zones: lower montane, upper montane, subalpine and alpine.
The fauna includes Pyrenean chamois, marmot, ermine, roe deer, among other mammals and numerous birds (Black Woodpecker, Common Crossbill, Lammergeier, Golden Eagle).
The park was created in 1955 after Ordesa y Monte Perdido National Park, first Spanish National Park in the Pyrenees in 1918. Its administrative seats are in Espot and Boí. The park is mainly located in the comarques of Pallars Sobirà and Alta Ribagorça.

See more: